Outrage

Outrage has a human face
Youโ€™ll find me in my happy place
With half a heart and half a boner
Looking like a quiet loner

The bandage on your culture’s tearing
Look at the dis-ease she’s wearing
She cries her heart out on the floor
And wonders what she’s living for

Suicide is all the rage
A rat can learn to love its cage
He was brought up by the toxic twins
Who told him he could never win

She has a mind and endless beauty
But she cannot do her duty
So she sleeps with teddy bears
And will not wash her greasy hair

The king just bought an abattoir
I wonder what he’ll use it for
He tells me I’m his golden boy
Then smothers me in courduroy

Murder settles in to stay
Ignorance has lots to say
Feelings never ever matter
To the munchkins of palaver

It’s sundown everywhere you look
And forty years is all it took
To kill the land, pollute the water
And sacralize a zest for slaughter

She wears her heartache like a shroud
And doesn’t dare to think out loud
She knows her place in little corners
And joins the daily line of mourners

Here comes the mayor like a centipede
And at his side is naked greed
He likes to shave with a guillotine
And he’ll kill you just for being seen

I guess I’ll go where the wild things are
And learn to love a dying star
Sing for my supper and cry for the loss
Be my own pet and talk to the boss

Published by wjwingrove97

๐ŸŽƒ๐ŸŽƒ๐ŸŽƒ

8 thoughts on “Outrage

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started