Song for L. Cohen

I tried so hard to win, I threw away the prize
There were things I could not alter, so I had to let them slide

I’ve been aching for somebody
Who will never ache for me

I let the darkness in
Now the darkness will not leave

I wasn’t born to love, but love still follows me around
I learned to hold my tongue while my friends went underground

There are changes in the weather
That simply baffle me

I let the sickness in
Now the sickness will not leave

The regime still runs like clockwork, and the people are serene
But no one really knows what goes on behind the scenes

I wish that I could blame someone
But that someone might be me

I let the panic in
Now the panic will not leave

(2012)

Published by wjwingrove97

🎃🎃🎃

98 thoughts on “Song for L. Cohen

  1. An interesting poem about an influential songwriter. I especially like the following lines. They recall Cohen’s lines: “They sentenced me to twenty years of boredom/ For trying to change the system from within.”

    The regime still runs like clockwork and the people are serene

    But no one really knows what goes on behind the scenes

  2. I love this..It is a song..has such a good beat..This happens to me, I think I am writing a poem, but it’s really lyrics that want to be sung….I hope you do that with this one..I love the essence and the rhythm!

      1. Oh thank you..I listened..It’s really good…and the phrase is so catchy, “I let the darkness in …etc” I really enjoyed hearing it. Congratulations!

  3. I couldn’t find anywhere to put a comment or a Like on today’s Post but I just wanted to tell you how very much I enjoyed it,. Thanks for sharing.
    Gwen.

  4. I’ve tried to make everything right, I was ignorant of my surroundings and not mentally sound and I am sorry. Did I get everything?

      1. Thank you, I’m going to try to relax tonight and take care of myself. Hope you have a great evening.👍🌸💖

  5. Thoughtfully deep and intriguing … Mr Cohen would approve …

    ” Nothing left to do
    When you know that you’ve been taken
    Nothing left to do
    When you’re begging for a crumb
    Nothing left to do
    When you’ve got to go on waiting
    Waiting for the miracle to come
    When you’ve fallen on the highway
    And you’re lying in the rain
    And they ask you how you’re doing
    Of course you’ll say you can’t complain
    If you’re squeezed for information
    That’s when you’ve got to play it dumb
    You just say you’re out there waiting
    For the miracle, for the miracle to come”

  6. Absolutely loved this! I have been a Cohen fan for all my 66 years. He is definitely an iconic inspiration to many. The last true gentleman. I had the pleasure and the honor of meeting him a few times in the late 60’s and early 70’s.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started